I think Nugget is a lot smarter than she looks/acts (pigs are actually the third most intelligent animal on the planet, or something like that). Or she made a big mistake and made the best out of a crummy situation. I’ll let you decide.

Last month, I walked into the garage, aka Nugget’s room, probably to give her a carrot or let her in the house, and, upon glancing over towards her bed area, noticed her big pillow was looking a little larger than usual. She sleeps on one of those huge dog pillows, and earlier in the month she ripped a huge hole in the cover and inner pillow. This was probably in a fit of rage – I started a new job a few months ago that requires a one hour commute each way, which really extends my work day; needless to say, we had to slowly grow into our new schedule. Anyways, I guess Nugget was cold and decided that nesting inside of the pillow was the best solution. Imagine my surprise when her pillow started moving after I called her name and she popped out of the hole! I almost died of laughter, and so did everyone else who witness this phenomenon. I thought the Nugget-stuffed pillow looked exactly like a jelly donut, hence the name. (FYI, I know the garage looks super dirty, but I promise I cleaned it recently. The Nuggster likes to rip stuff up.)

I think you can see why I have a dilemma about whether this was her purposeful doing, or making the best out of a bad situation she had created. I let her have her fun for a week or so, and even restuffed her pillow to the best of my ability so she could continue sleeping in there. Unfortunately, the stuffing got all over the place and I pretty much had to throw the whole thing away. Now she’s sleeping on chair pads and her heating pad. Guess it’s time to go buy her a new piggie bed! Hopefully this next one can withstand her destructive behaviors. 🙂

